The Dangers of Apathy

Martin Niemöller, a prominent Protestant pastor who opposed the Nazi regime, spent the last 7 years of Nazi rule in concentration camps.
The quotation stems from Niemöller’s lectures during the early postwar period.
 
ORIGINAL:
 
In Germany they first came for the Communists,
and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a Communist.

Then they came for the Jews,
and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a Jew.

Then they came for the trade unionists,
and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a trade unionist.

Then they came for the Catholics,
and I didn’t speak up because I was a Protestant.

Then they came for me —
and by that time no one was left to speak up.
-Pastor Martin Niemöller
 
 
If the good Pastor were alive today, perhaps we’d hear something like this:
 
In America they first came for the banks and investment houses
and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t “on Wall St.”
 
Then they came for the auto industry,
and I didn’t speak up because I was not involved in car making, and always bought “foreign” anyway.
 
Then they came for the oil industry,
and I didn’t speak up, because I was “green”, and they were making too much money anyway.
 
Then they came for “the rich”,
and I didn’t speak up, because I made less than they did.

Then they came for the people who spoke out at town hall meetings,
and I didn’t speak up because I had never attended one.
 
They came for the Tea Party people,
and I didn’t speak up, because I believed MSNBC, and called them “teabaggers” too.
 
Then they came for Rush Limbaugh,
and I didn’t speak up because I never really paid attention to him.
 
Then they came after FoxNews,
and I didn’t speak up because I watched CBS, NBC, CNN, MSNBC, and ABC
and believed every word.
 
Then they came for the insurance industry,
and I said nothing, because I was happy with my plan.
 
Then they came for our Doctors, Nurses, and health professionals,
and I said nothing because I had to wait an hour once in the E.R..
 
Eventually, although I believed in “Hope” and “Change”, and “Yes, WE CAN”, they came for me.
Because I finally spoke up. But there was no one left to join me.  It was too late. America was lost.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

